Home   »   About Us
Share +


SSP was formed in 1978 to serve the broad scholarly publishing community through activities fostering information exchange, education, and networking. These rich resources, made possible by SSP’s leadership and members, have taken place around the United States at annual meetings, workshops, top management roundtables, seminars, webinars, focus groups, and other events.

Over the years, these activities have provided a fascinating record of the community’s rapid embrace of new technology. This section of the SSP Web site provides a comprehensive look at those changes and records the transition of leadership, articles that have been written about its formation, and other information of importance tracing the history not only of SSP but also of scholarly publishing over the past few decades.

How SSP Started

SSP is largely the product of many delightful, energetic, and visionary people who saw the need for a society that included people involved in scholarly communication in all disciplines. Some of SSP’s founders have written brief and engaging accounts of the Society’s beginnings: Mark Carroll, A. F. (Fred) Spilhaus, Jr., “Recollections: SSP — The Neolithic Era” Barbara E. Meyers, “The Society for Scholarly Publishing”

Founding Board of Directors

President: Mark Carroll Vice President: Robert Day Secretary-Treasurer: Fred Spilhaus Assistant Secretary-Treasurer: Judy Holoviak Directors: Richard Belknap, Anita DeVivo, Elizabeth Fake, E. K. (Woody) Gannett, J. G. Goellner, Brigitte (Huybrechts) Duces, H. E. Kennedy, Barbara Meyers, Joseph Raben, John Strawhorn, William Teare, Seldon Terrant

SSP’s Past Presidents

  • 2015-2016: Ann Michael
  • 2014-2015: Howard Ratner
  • 2013-2014: Kent Anderson
  • 2012-2013: Carol Anne Meyer
  • 2011-2012: Theresa Van Schaik
  • 2010-2011: Lois Smith
  • 2009-2010: Raymond Fastiggi
  • 2008-2009: October Ivins
  • 2007-2008: Susan Kesner
  • 2006-2007: Judy Luther
  • 2005-2006: Norman Frankel
  • 2004-2005: Heather Joseph
  • 2003-2004: Margaret Reich
  • 2002-2003: Ed Barnas
  • 2001-2002: William Kasdorf
  • 2000-2001: Janet Fisher
  • 1999-2000: Kathleen Case
  • 1998-1999: Frederick Bowes, III
  • 1997-1998: Janice Fleming
  • 1996-1997: Margaret Foti
  • 1995-1996: Christine Lamb
  • 1994-1995: Christine Lamb
  • 1993-1994: Robert Shirrell
  • 1992-1993: Robert Shirrell
  • 1991-1992: Judy C. Holoviak
  • 1990-1991: Judy C. Holoviak
  • 1989-1990: Ann Reinke Strong
  • 1988-1989: Ann Reinke Strong
  • 1987-1988: G. William Teare, Jr.
  • 1986-1987: G. William Teare, Jr.
  • 1985-1986: Elwood K. Gannett
  • 1984-1985: Elwood K. Gannett
  • 1983-1984: Robert Day
  • 1982-1983: Robert Day
  • 1981-1982: Mark Carroll
  • 1980-1981: Mark Carroll
  • 1979-1980: Mark Carroll

About the SSP Logo

The logo was designed by William Propert with what was then William Byrd Press. It was proposed for adoption and unanimously approved at the July 12, 1978 meeting of the Board of Directors. “The points of the circumference of the circle represent the various communities the Society seeks to serve and the chords across the circle symbolize the interactions and lines of communication and interest among those communities.” —from the July 12, 1978 meeting minutes