Home   »   News
Share +
05.01.2018 | SSP News & Releases

Society for Scholarly Publishing Awards 12 Fellowships for 2018

May 1, 2018 Wheatridge, CO – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) has announced that twelve students and early-career professionals have been awarded highly competitive Fellowships for 2018. The Career Development Committee received more than 90 applications for these coveted positions from students and early-career professionals in publishing, librarianship, and information science. This year’s recipients were chosen based on their high level of engagement in their fields and represent a diverse range of skills in scholarly publishing and librarianship.  

The Fellowship Program lasts for one year and begins at the SSP Annual Meeting – to be held in Chicago, IL, May 30 to June 1, 2018. The Fellowship offers a wide range of career development and mentorship opportunities for students and early-career professionals in the scholarly communication industry. Benefits include year-round training opportunities, one-year complimentary SSP membership, free registrations to selected SSP events, an assigned industry expert as mentor, and participation in community forums and SSP committees.

“The Fellowship Program continues to attract high-quality applicants and has become increasingly competitive,” notes SSP Executive Director, Melanie Dolechek. “The fellows have become an integral part of our committees and task forces—helping keep SSP’s programming fresh and relevant. The program is a great way for them to get involved, expand their network, and learn additional skills that will help them excel in their future careers.”

SSP Fellowship recipients are expected to engage in SSP events, be actively involved in SSP committees, participate in a Fellowship project and surveys, and work with committees to promote and highlight the Fellowship Program. The 2018 Fellows are:

Early Career Fellows:
Alexa Masi, The MIT Press, USA
Alexandra Vieux Frankel, American Anthropological Association, USA
Frances Chang Andreu, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
Mariya Maistrovskaya, University of Toronto Libraries, Canada
Megan McCarty, J&J Editorial, LLC, USA
Stephanie Savage, University of British Columbia, Canada

Student Fellows:
Ewa Zegler-Poleska, Indiana University Bloomington, USA
Norman Rusin, George Washington University, USA
Saba Vatanpour, STEM Fellowship Journal, Canada

International Fellows:
Laura Simonite, Publons, United Kingdom
Monica Moniz, Cambridge University Press, United Kingdom
Victoria Zea Truter, Taylor & Francis, South Africa

President-Elect Adrian Stanley says, “It is wonderful to see the continued support of the SSP Fellowship program, helping the growth and development of the next generation of leaders, volunteers and rising stars. Congratulations to all 12 winners and we look forward to supporting their continued advancement and learning within SSP’s vibrant and evolving ecosystem.”

The Fellowships are funded through corporate sponsorship and from the SSP operating budget. Corporate Sponsors for 2018 include Ringgold, Inera, Scholarly IQ, and MDPI AG – Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute. Annual Meeting attendees will have an opportunity to support the Fellowship Program and update their profile photos at the same time by stopping by our Professional Headshot Studio, sponsored by HighWire.

Members and attendees can also donate to the Fellowship Fund when they join or register for the Annual Meeting. Those interested in supporting this program can donate online ($25-$100); Fellowship Sponsorship Packages are also available for $2,500 and include recognition at the Annual Meeting.

The Career Development Committee, on behalf of the Society for Scholarly Publishing, sincerely thank the Fellowship Program sponsors as well as individual contributors who make this innovative and supportive Program possible.

About the Society for Scholarly Publishing – SSP, founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing—including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and focus groups to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

For more information, contact:
Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director
info@sspnet.org | +1-303-422-3914

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *