Home   »   News
Share +
06.06.2016  |  SSP News & Releases

Society for Scholarly Publishing Recognizes Five Members for Outstanding Contributions at 2016 Annual Meeting

June 6, 2016 – Wheat Ridge, CO – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) recognized the efforts of five deserving individuals at its recent Annual Meeting held in Vancouver, BC, June 1-3.

“SSP could not accomplish what it does without the efforts of the many active volunteers that are passionate about advancing scholarly communication and their community within SSP,” said Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director of SSP. “They are the driving force behind the various year-round programs organized by the Society. These awards honor those that have gone above and beyond to help further the mission of SSP.”

Howard Ratner, Chair of the Nominating Committee and 2015-2016 SSP Past President presented Wendy Newsham, Vice President, North America Sales, Highwire and Mike Mozina, Production Manager, Brill USA with the SSP Appreciation Award. The award recognizes the work of individuals whose recent actions have benefited SSP and the scholarly communication field.

SSP2016NewshamNewsham was commended for her efforts on the SSP Development Committee since 2011; serving in the co-chair position for three years. She was successful in leading the committee to building support for SSP programs such as the Annual Meeting and Regional Events.




SSP2016MozinaMozina was recognized for his leadership in proposing and piloting the Regional Events program while simultaneously serving on the Annual Meeting Program and Education Committees. He is now co-chair of the Community Engagement Committee, which will expand the program to new cities.



Each year SSP acknowledges the achievements of up-and-coming leaders in scholarly publishing who have demonstrated their potential through outstanding service and contribution. Applications were judged on the nominees’ demonstration of leadership on an SSP committee or task force and innovative contributions made to the field of scholarly communications. This year the Nominating Committee selected two deserving candidates. The 2016 SSP Emerging Leader Award winners are Laura Ricci, Senior Product Manager, Partnerships, EBSCO Information Services and Phill Jones, Head of Publisher Outreach, Digital Science.

SSP2016RicciRicci, who manages technology, metadata, and distribution partnerships for the eBooks team at EBSCO served as served as a member of the Annual Meeting Program Committee from 2013-2015 becoming one of the first ever hosts of the popular SSP Speed Networking event. She became the co-chair of Annual Meeting Program Committee for 2015-2016 and has also served on the SSP Local Planning Committee for Boston Regional Events and the SSP Early Career Task Force. 


SSP2016JonesJones serves simultaneously on the Program and Education Committees—leading and running multiple events such as Fall Seminars, Pre-Meeting Seminars and Webinars. He is also an active chef (author) on The Scholarly Kitchen, SSP’s blog. Jones has spent much of his career working on projects that use technology to accelerate scientific discovery. In his current role, he works to improve understanding of the types of products and services that Digital Science offers. 


SSP2016ReichThe esteemed recipient of the 2016 SSP Distinguished Service Award is Margaret Reich. This award is given to a member of SSP for his or her work over an extended period to help further the mission of SSP and the field of scholarly communication.

Reich, who has been working in scholarly publishing for more than 30 years, has worked extensively with non-profit society publishers and operates a consulting business. She ran the American Physiological Society’s publishing division, and worked at American College of Emergency Physicians, the American Heart Association, and the American Journal of Roentgenology. She is a co-author of The Handbook of Journal Publishing, along with Sally Morris, Ed Barnas, and Douglas LaFrenier, published in 2013.

The Distinguished Service Award acknowledges her long-term service and dedication to SSP. From chairing committees and task forces and serving on the Board of Directors to leading the Society as its President from 2003-2004 and taking on the role of the first Program Director from 2014-2015, Reich has been an ambassador for SSP and her contributions to SSP have been immeasurable through the years.

“Our outstanding award recipients are representative of the lifeblood of SSP, our engaged, committed, and tireless membership community! We thank our awarded and all of our members for their continued devotion to SSP.” said Ann Michael, 2015-2016 SSP President.

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *