Home   »   News
Share +
06.28.2017 | SSP News & Releases

Society for Scholarly Publishing Recognizes Seven Members for Outstanding Contributions at the 2017 Annual Meeting

June 26, 2017 – Wheatridge, CO – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) recognized the efforts of seven deserving individuals at its recent Annual Meeting held in Boston, MA, May 31- June 2.

“SSP could not accomplish what it does without the efforts of the many active volunteers that are passionate about advancing scholarly communication and their community within SSP,” said Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director of SSP. “They are the driving force behind the various year-round programs organized by the Society. These awards honor those that have gone above and beyond to help further the mission of SSP.”

Ann Michael, Chair of the Nominating and Awards Committee and 2016-2017 SSP Past President presented Mary Beth Barilla, Publisher Relations Director, RedLink; Lori Carlin, Director, Marketing & Senior Consultant, Delta Think; Yael Fitzpatrick, and Michael Clarke, President, Clarke and Company with the SSP Appreciation Award. The award recognizes the work of individuals whose recent actions have benefited SSP and the scholarly communication field.

Pictured from left, SSP President, Rick Anderson with SSP Appreciation Award winners Mary Beth Barilla, Michael Clarke, Lori Carlin and Yael Fitzpatrick.


Barilla was commended for her efforts on the SSP Annual Meeting Program Committee since 2014, serving in the co-chair position for three years.  During her time as a co-chair the Annual Meeting has exceeded records for both the number of concurrent sessions and numbers of attendees. Carlin and Fitzpatrick were recognized for their leadership in spearheading the Branding Task Force which recently launched a visual identity refresh for the Society. Clarke successfully lead the Scholarly Kitchen Renovation Task Force through a website redesign earlier this year.


SSP President, Rick Anderson with SSP Emerging Leader Award winners Emma Brink and Matt Cooper.

Each year SSP acknowledges the achievements of up-and-coming leaders in scholarly publishing who have demonstrated their potential through outstanding service and contribution. Applications were judged on the nominees’ demonstration of leadership on an SSP committee or task force and innovative contributions made to the field of scholarly communications. This year the Nominating and Awards Committee selected two deserving candidates. The 2017 SSP Emerging Leader Award winners are Emma Brink, Associate Editor, John Wiley and Sons., and Matt Cooper, Senior Commercial Support Analyst, John Wiley and Sons.

Brink and Cooper, are members of the Career Development Committee and have served as co-chairs of the Early Career Sub-committee since 2015.  Through their efforts, they are bringing more visibility to and driving engagement from early career professionals through a number of outreach activities. They’ve also been central to elevating the issue of diversity and inclusion to the forefront for SSP and its membership.

SSP President, Rick Anderson with SSP Distinguished Service Award winner, Will Wakeling.

The esteemed recipient of the 2017 SSP Distinguished Service Award is Will Wakeling. This award is given to a member of SSP for his or her work over an extended period to help further the mission of SSP and the field of scholarly communication. Wakeling has been a member of a variety of SSP committees since 2006 and received an SSP Appreciation Award in 2012. He has served as a member of the SSP Board of Directors and over several years, successfully guided the SSP Fellowship Program, previously the Travel Grant Program, to be the highly-competitive and enriching experience that it is today.  The Fellowship Program offers a wide range of career development and nurturing opportunities for students and early-career professionals in the scholarly publishing industry and provides funding for attendance to the SSP Annual Meeting.  

“There is no more deserving recipient of the Distinguished Service award than Will Wakeling. In addition to his many years of service to scholarly communications and the SSP, Will has made it his mission to welcome students and early career professionals into the industry. We should all thank Will for the encouragement and hospitality he has extended to some of our most dedicated and talented colleagues,” said Michael.



About the Society for Scholarly Publishing – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing — including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and focus groups to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

For more information, contact:
Melanie Dolechek
Executive Director
info@sspnet.org | 303 422 3914

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *