Home   »   News
Share +
04.23.2015 | SSP News & Releases

SSP Announces Newly Elected Officer and Board Members for 2015–2016 Term

April 23, 2015 – The results of the recent election are in! Join us in welcoming the following members to the SSP Board of Directors:


Rick Anderson, Associate Dean for Scholarly Resources & Collections at the University of Utah. Rick began his career as a bibliographer for YBP, Inc., and since then has worked in research libraries as an acquisitions, serials, and collection development librarian. He has worked closely with publishers throughout his career, serving on the advisory boards of Blackwell Publishing, Wiley-Blackwell, Oxford University Press, JSTOR, and HighWire Press. Rick regularly contributes to The Scholarly Kitchen and the Library Journal. He has also served as president of NASIG and is currently co-chair of the SSP Education Committee.

At-Large Board Members

Sylvia Hunter, Editorial Manager, University of Toronto Press. As Editorial Manager, Journals, at University of Toronto Press, Sylvia manages file preparation, copyediting, and contracts for almost 40 social sciences and humanities journals. Since 2010, she has spearheaded UTP’s P-Shift XML-first workflow, an innovative collaborative project that has expanded her experience to include scholarly books, XML, and EPUB production. In these and previous roles at UTP, where she has worked since 1996, Sylvia has led teams of up to seven in-house staff in editorial support, copyediting, contracts, permissions, and print and online production. She has been a member of the SSP Communication Committee since 2012.

Greg Suprock, Head of Solutions Architecture, Apex CoVantage. Greg is responsible for the design and implementation of software technologies and production systems to support customers’ long-term goals. He has worked with large STM publishers, service providers and libraries. PLOS, Taylor and Francis, JSTOR, HighWire Press, the British Library, the National Library of Australia, and the National Library of Medicine are partners of Apex CoVantage. Between 1995 and 2010, Greg worked for The Sheridan Press and Cadmus in production technology roles, and from 2005 to 2007, as New Technology Director for Nature Publishing Group. Greg has served on the SSP Education Committee and the SSP Board of Directors.

Bonnie Zavon, Public Relations Officer, HighWire. Bonnie wears many hats at HighWire: PR Officer, Brand Manager, Event Planner, and Marketing Communications Lead. For the past 16 years, she has contributed to strategic initiatives, policy planning, and program implementation and has given presentations to librarians around the world. She is known for collaborative brainstorming and applying creative, fun, and practical solutions on time, within budget. She has been a member of the SSP Marketing Committee for the past three years and has served as liaison to the SSP Communications Committee.

These new board members will begin their terms at the end of the 37th Annual Meeting in Arlington, VA, next month, and join the following 2015–2016 Board members:

President Ann Michael, Delta Think; Past President Howard Ratner, CHORUS/CHOR Inc.; Secretary/Treasurer Byron Laws, KiwiTech; and Board Members at Large Jocelyn Dawson, Duke University Press; Emilie Delquié, Copyright Clearance Center, Inc.; Marian H. Hollingsworth, Thomson Reuters; Michelle Norell, Atypon; Jennifer Pesanelli, FASEB; and Jean Shipman, University of Utah.

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation