Home   »   News
06.08.2023 | SSP News & Releases

Society for Scholarly Publishing Awards Eight Members for Outstanding Contributions

The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) celebrated the outstanding achievements of eight individuals at the highly anticipated 2023 Annual Business Meeting. The event took place on June 1 during SSP’s 45th Annual Meeting held in Portland. These remarkable individuals were recognized for their invaluable contributions to SSP and scholarly communication.

As part of the awards ceremony, Alice Meadows, SSP 2021-2022 Past President and Chair of the Nominating and Awards Committee, expressed her appreciation for the dedication and excellence demonstrated by the awardees: “Selecting these volunteers was a wonderful, incredibly difficult job, but it has been an absolute joy and privilege.”

SSP is proud to congratulate the following members for their time, leadership, and expertise:

Appreciation Award

The SSP Appreciation Award acknowledges the noteworthy contributions of one or more members who have significantly benefited SSP and the scholarly communication field within a short period of fewer than three years. This year, four deserving members were recognized for their substantial impact on our community:

  • Lori Carlin (Delta Think) for her service as co-chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee.
  • Lettie Conrad (Outsell Inc.) for her service as the North American Editor of Learning Publishing.
  • David Myers (Data Licensing Alliance, Inc.) for his extended service emceeing the popular Previews Sessions at SSP’s Annual Meeting.
  • John Warren (George Washington University) for his service in fostering collaborations between SSP, AUPresses, and GWU.

Emerging Leader Award

Established in 2012, the Emerging Leader Award recognizes an SSP member working in scholarly communication for ten years or less. The award celebrates individuals who have displayed immense potential through outstanding service, contributions to an SSP committee or task force, and innovative contributions to their respective fields. The following remarkable emerging leaders were honored:

  • Erin Foley (Copyright Clearance Center) has been an invested and dedicated community member since beginning her scholarly communications journey 11 years ago. She has actively served on several SSP committees, including the DEIA committee and the Annual Meeting Program Committee, where she serves as the incoming co-chair.
  • Rebecca Kirk (PLOS) has been an integral part of the DEIA committee since 2020, as co-chair since 2022. Her commitment to driving sustained and meaningful change within SSP is commendable, particularly her integration of DEIA liaisons into every committee this year, resulting in significant positive feedback.
  • Dianndra Roberts (Royal College of Psychiatrists) has significantly impacted the scholarly publishing community through her platform and expertise. Her authenticity and courage in sharing the human elements of her journey have inspired industry professionals to bring their whole selves to their work.

Distinguished Service Award
This award is given to a member for his or her work over an extended period on behalf of SSP and scholarly communication. 

This year, Lisa Hinchliffe (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign) received this prestigious honor for her long history of extensive contributions to SSP and the wider community as a Scholarly Kitchen Chef, former Board Member, engaging leader, and guest speaker in many webinars and seminars, including the very popular Introduction to Open Access. She most recently chaired the Learned Publishing North American Editor Search Task Force.

Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director of SSP, expressed her deep appreciation for the winners’ tireless efforts, highlighting their crucial role in making SSP a remarkable organization. The overwhelming number of nominees across all award categories demonstrates the invaluable contributions of SSP’s dedicated volunteers, who form the backbone of our community.

The Society for Scholarly Publishing extends its heartfelt congratulations to the 2023 SSP award recipients and expresses profound gratitude for their unwavering commitment to SSP and the advancement of scholarly publishing.

About the Society for Scholarly Publishing The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing—including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and regional events to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

Contact Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director | info@sspnet.org | 303-422-3914

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation