Home   »   News
Share +
04.26.2017  |  SSP News & Releases

SSP Announces Newly-Elected Board Members for 2017-18 Term

April 26, 2017 – Wheat Ridge, CO – The results of the recent election are in! Join us in welcoming the following members to the SSP Board of Directors:


Adrian Stanley, Vice President Publisher Business Development, Digital Science. Adrian currently works at Digital Science, a technology company serving the information needs of the research and publishing community, which invests in companies that simplify the research cycle, including a host of admired brands including Altmetric, Figshare and Overleaf. He currently serves as Associate Editor for Learned Publishing; is a former SSP Board member; and has held numerous volunteer SSP/ALPSP committee/chair roles over the last 13 years.


Byron Laws, Director of Sales, Nova Techset Limited. Byron works at Nova Techset, a pre-press firm that provides a full complement of content services to scholarly publishers. He has always worked on the business side of companies that use technology to simplify processes and solve problems for publishers, and have extensive experience in managing P&L. Byron has been a member of SSP since 2001 and currently serves as SSP Treasurer and chair of the Finance Committee. He previously co-chaired the SSP Education and Marketing Committees.


Hillary Corbett, Director of Scholarly Communication and Digital Publishing, Northeastern University Libraries. Hillary has worked in several roles with Northeastern University Libraries since 2005. She is also currently serving as the University Copyright Officer. She serves on the SSP Annual Program Committee. In 2016, Hillary spoke at the Annual Meeting in Vancouver and moderated a panel on institutional open access policies at a Boston regional event.


Robert Harington, Associate Executive Director, American Mathematical Society (AMS). Robert is responsible for driving strategic growth and management of the AMS publishing program for books, journals and electronic products at AMS. A regular contributor to SSP’s The Scholarly Kitchen blog, he also serves as Secretary of CHORUS/CHOR Inc., sits on the MathJax Steering Committee, and is a volunteer on SSP’s Annual Meeting Program Committee.


Lauren Kane, Chief Operating Officer, BioOne. Lauren oversees sales efforts, brokers new partnerships, and supports the organization’s strategic growth. She is an active community participant, currently serving on ALPSP’s North American Steering Group, SSP’s Branding Task Force, and as co-chair of SSP’s Organizational Collaboration Committee.



These new board members will begin their terms at the end of the 39th Annual Meeting in Boston, MA, in June, and join the following 2017-18 Board members:

President Jennifer Pesanelli, FASEB; Past President Rick Anderson, University of Utah; Board Members at Large Lori Carlin, Delta Think; David Crotty, Oxford University Press; Alice Meadows, ORCiD; Sylvia Hunter, All in the Words; Greg Suprock, Apex CoVantage, Content Solutions; and Bonnie Zavon.

About the Society for Scholarly Publishing – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing — including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and Librarian Focus Groups to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

For more information, contact:

Dede Gish-Panjada General Manager
info@sspnet.org | 303 422 3914
10200 West 44th Avenue, Suite 304
Wheat Ridge, CO 80033-2840

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *