Home   »   News
04.25.2019 | SSP News & Releases

SSP Announces Newly Elected Board Members for 2019-2020 Term

The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) 2019-2020 election results are in. Join us in welcoming the following leaders to our Board of Directors:


Lauren Kane, Chief Strategy and Operating Officer, BioOne

With fifteen years in the industry, Lauren currently serves as chief strategy and operating officer of the nonprofit scientific publisher BioOne. At BioOne, she oversee sales and content development; explores new products and services; and brokers strategic partnerships that further the organization’s mission. She has served on the SSP Board of Directors since 2017, and is a member of the Executive Committee. Previously, she co-chaired the SSP Organizational Collaboration Committee and the 40th Anniversary Task Force. She is also active in ALPSP, and currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Professional Development Committee.



Lisa Hinchliffe, Professor and Coordinator for Information Literacy and Instruction, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Lisa is a Professor and the Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction in the University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She is also an affiliate faculty member in the University’s School of Information Sciences. As the 2010-2011 President of the Association of College and Research Libraries, she led the launch of the Value of Academic Libraries Initiative as well as the Board processes to develop a new strategic plan and re-structure the association’s committees.


Rebecca McLeod, Strategic Account Manager, Copyright Clearance Center (CCC)

Rebecca has a broad range of experience in scholarly communications having worked in editorial development, marketing, operations and relationship management roles on both the publisher and vendor sides as well as for nonprofit and commercial organizations. Currently, she is Strategic Account Manager at Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), where she is responsible for managing key publisher accounts. She has served on several SSP committees including Annual Meeting, Marketing and the 40th Anniversary Task Force. Rebecca previously co-chaired the Website Task Force and since 2017, she has been Co-Chair of the Diversity & Inclusion Task Force. In 2013, she was a recipient of SSP’s annual Appreciation Award.


Miranda Walker, Senior Publisher, Wolters Kluwer

As a senior publisher at Wolters Kluwer, Miranda’s role is to guide the business and strategic goals for a portfolio of large society partner publications. Prior to her move to Wolters Kluwer in 2016, she was a director of publications at INFORMS where she led the society’s self-publishing program. She is a graduate of Morgan State University and the University of Baltimore’s Masters of Publications Design program.

Additionally, the Board of Directors has appointed Isabel Thompson to fill the one year vacancy left by Lauren Kane as she succeeds to President-Elect. 

Isabel Thompson, Senior Strategy Analyst, Holtzbrinck Publishing Group

As Senior Strategy Analyst at Holtzbrinck Publishing Group, I’m fortunate to enjoy a birds-eye view of the scholarly communications ecosystem. I’m passionate about using technology and collaborative partnerships to serve researchers and benefit both the academy and our industry. I have a broad business background, having previously worked in a strategic consultancy—a planned detour from scholarly publishing, which I fell in love with when at Oxford University Press and through working with ALPSP.

These new board members will begin their terms at the end of the SSP 41st Annual Meeting in San Diego, in May. Current Board members, Jennifer Pesanelli, David Crotty, Alice Meadows, and Lori Carlin will conclude their terms at that time. The 2019-2020 President will be Angela Cochran. 

About the Society for Scholarly Publishing – SSP, founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing—including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and regional events to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

For more information, contact: 
Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director
info@sspnet.org | +1-856.439.1385

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation