Home   »   News
Share +
06.12.2013  |  SSP News & Releases

SSP Honors Excellence in Leadership and Volunteerism With Its Highest Awards

June 12, 2013, Wheat Ridge, CO—The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) announced the 2013 recipients for its most prestigious awards: the Distinguished Service Award, the SSP Appreciation Award, the Emerging Leader Award, and its newest, the International Contributions Award. These awards recognize outstanding service by individuals in support of the Society’s strategic goals and were presented to the recipients at a luncheon last week during the society’s35th Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Past President Terry Van Schaik (left) and President Carol Ann Meyer (right) present the 2013 SSP Distinguished Service Award to October Ivins (center).

October Ivins, current co-chair of SSP’s Organizational Collaboration Committee, past president of SSP, former board member, and former chair or co-chair of six committees, was presented with the Distinguished Service Award.

In presenting the award, outgoing President Carol Anne Meyer noted October’s length, breadth, and quality of service. “She brought the experience and knowledge gained from committee participation to the board of directors, and as president she led with the knowledge gained from such varied service.”

October Ivins continues as co-chair of the Organizational Collaboration Committee for the third year.




SSP President Carol Ann Meyer presents the 2013 Appreciation Award to Tony Alves, cochair of the Website Task Force. Also awarded were Anne Orens and Rebecca McLeod (not present).

This year’s recipients of the 2013 Appreciation Award, Anthony Alves, Rebecca McLeod, and Anne Orens, were honored for their tireless work on the Website Task Force. With Windmill Design and the task force members, who came from several SSP committees—particularly Marketing and Communication—they created a more accessible, usable, flexible, and contemporary website. The new site, http://www.ssspnet.org, was launched this past February. Tony Alves accepted the award on behalf of the other recipients.

“Much of what SSP achieves as an organization is the result of collaboration and shared knowledge among volunteers on multiple committees and task forces,” said Meyer. “Of all the achievements to which we could point, perhaps the most notable one if the past few years has been the total overhaul of the SSP website.”


President Carol Ann Meyer (left) presents the 2013 Emerging Leader Award to Kayte Bridgewater (right).

Kayte Bridgewater, who works as an assistant editor at Wiley-Blackwell, is this year’s recipient of the Emerging Leader Award. Although only in the industry a short time, Kayte is recognized as an educator, mentor, and enthusiastic SSP participant, serving on the Professional Development Committee and the 2012 Travel Grant Awards Committee this year. She developed a successful series of webinars for young professionals and has begun to build a network of younger members.

Alice Meadows, outgoing SSP board member, said, “Kayte exemplifies the attributes we need—and will continue to need—to help ensure SSP continues to succeed and thrive in the future.”

This is the second year the Emerging Leader Award has been given.


Past President Norman Frankel (left) presents SSP’s first International Contributions Award to Takashi Yamakawa (right).

Takashi Yamakawa, USCACO Corporation, is the first recipient of the International Contributions Award. Takashi has been working in scholarly publishing for many years and is a great ambassador for the industry, encouraging people from his native Japan to not only get involved in the field but also attend the annual meetings. Dubbed “Mr. International” during the luncheon, he was recognized for his worldwide travels to promote scholarly publishing, including more than 100 trips to the United States.

“We are pleased to acknowledge and honor a colleague who personifies the internationalization of the scholarly publishing community,” said Norman Frankel, a former President of SSP, co-chair of the Organizational Collaboration Committee and current member of the International Strategic Task Force.

Meyer added, “These individuals have made extraordinary contributions to SSP. Past President and Chair of the Nominating and Awards Committee Terry Van Schaik and her team had to choose these few from the many volunteers who go above and beyond in service to the Society. We Congratulate all of our 2013 award recipients. We are grateful for your contributions to scholarly SSP and scholarly publishing.”

Congratulations to all of our 2013 award recipients. SSP is grateful for your service to the Society and to scholarly publishing!

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *