Home   »   News
05.01.2023 | SSP News & Releases

SSP Welcomes Newly Elected Board Members for 2023-2024 Term

May 1, 2023 – The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) 2023-2024 election results are in! Join us in welcoming the following leaders to our Board of Directors:


Heather Staines, Senior Strategy Consultant, Delta Think

Bio: Originally trained as a historian, Heather has more than 25 years of experience in scholarly communications with roles ranging from editorial director to e-product manager to business development. She has worked with books, journals, and databases and has extensive experience working with publishers and libraries from around the globe. An over-volunteerer, she’s passionate about giving back through committee work, educational programming, and mentorship programs. She has a Ph.D. in Military and Diplomatic History from Yale University.


Emilie Delquié

Bio: Emilie Delquié’s career in publishing spans various organizations, including the University of Massachusetts Library and PCG, the sales and marketing consulting division of Ingenta, where she advised publishers on how to navigate the institutional market for eight years. In 2014, Emilie joined Copyright Clearance Center to manage strategic accounts and later the Rightsholders Relations and Global Alliances teams, where she was involved with hundreds of publishers and societies worldwide. Currently, Emilie is on family leave from CCC until June, working on various projects while pursuing an Executive MBA. Now the Treasurer since 2020, Emilie has been very fortunate to be involved with SSP over the last 15 years as a Board Member, co-Chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee and of the Career Development Committee, overseeing the wonderful Fellowship program. In addition to navigating the budget uncertainty of the last three years, she participated in gaining corporate support for the Generations Fund and several other task forces.

Board Members-at-Large

Yael Fitzpatrick, Editorial Ethics Manager, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Bio: Yael Fitzpatrick has been in scholarly communication for more than 25 years, working and collaborating with numerous sectors of the community, including editorial, design, production, marketing, and ethics, and working for organizations including AAAS, AGU, and now the National Academy of Sciences. SSP has been her professional home for years, and she is honored to have contributed to the Society through service on multiple committees and task forces and to have served as a mentor, including for two past SSP Fellows. She has been a member of the Membership and Marketing Committees, The Scholarly Kitchen Cabinet, the 40th Anniversary Task Force, and the Branding Task Force (including as co-chair), which was responsible for the development of SSP’s current logo. A highlight of her service to SSP was her years serving on the Annual Meeting Program Committee, culminating with four years as co-chair. She is humbled and grateful to have been given the SSP Appreciation Award for her work on both the Branding Task Force and the Annual Meeting Program Committee.

Simon Holt, Head of Central Strategies, Content Acquisition, Elsevier

Bio: In the course of his career, Simon Holt has worked across books and journals. He is currently Head of Central Strategies in Elsevier’s Content Acquisition Team. He focuses on improving outcomes for people through advocacy and collaboration. As a person with a disability, he has learned to appreciate the value of diverse perspectives to solve problems and create an inclusive environment for all. He has taken leadership roles in several cross-industry initiatives, advocating for greater integration of DEIA principles in our work. SSP brings together the things Simon values – community, equity advocacy, learning, and ideas exchange. He serves on four SSP committees – the Annual Meeting Programme Committee, the DEIA Committee, the Scholarly Kitchen Cabinet, and the UK Regional Committee. Due to their work together, several SSP colleagues have become friends, and Simon was honored to receive SSP’s Emerging Leader Award in 2020. Put simply, SSP is a community where he feels at home.

Damita Snow, Senior Manager, Publishing Technologies, American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

Bio: At the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), Damita Snow, CAE, is the senior manager of publishing technologies and diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility specialist. She has held several positions at ASCE related to technology, design, and publishing. She was a member of ASCE’s Leadership Academy, a mentor in the staff mentorship program, and appointed to a special task committee charged with defining ASCE’s staff values. Damita is also the immediate past chair of ASCE’s Staff Diversity & Inclusion Council, a group that she founded and developed within ASCE. Last, of all, she is also passionate about sharing her knowledge of DEIA and has been a speaker, writer, and collaborator on projects related to this topic for several organizations. Damita has also presented on topics related to ethical AI at the ASAE Technology Conference and at SSP’s Annual Meeting. Damita currently serves as an AM&P Network Associations Council advisory board member. She also co-chairs the Publications Special Interest Group for the Council of Engineering and Scientific Society Executives. She is also a member of the Research Committee, a branch of the Research Foundation, for the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE). Prior to joining the ASAE Research Committee.

These new board members will begin their terms on June 1. Current Past President Alice Meadows, and board members Meredith Adinolfi, Gabe Harp, and Sai Konda will conclude their terms at that time.

Election winners will join incumbent board members incoming President Randy Townsend, incoming Past President Miranda Walker, and Members-at-Large Chhavi Chauhan, Mike Di Natale, Hannah Heckner, Charlotte Roh, Sara Rouhi, Tao Tao, and David Crotty (ex-officio).

Thank you to all of our members who voted!

About the Society for Scholarly Publishing The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP), founded in 1978, is a nonprofit organization formed to promote and advance communication among all sectors of the scholarly publication community through networking, information dissemination, and facilitation of new developments in the field. SSP members represent all aspects of scholarly publishing—including publishers, printers, e-products developers, technical service providers, librarians, and editors. SSP members come from a wide range of large and small commercial and nonprofit organizations. They meet at SSP’s annual meetings, educational seminars, and regional events to hear the latest trends from respected colleagues and to discuss common and mutual (and sometimes divergent) goals and viewpoints.

Contact Melanie Dolechek, Executive Director | info@sspnet.org | 303-422-3914

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation