Home   »   News
04.24.2024 | SSP News & Releases

SSP Welcomes Newly Elected Board Members for 2024-2025 Term

The Society for Scholarly Publishing (SSP) 2024-2025 election results are in! Join us in welcoming the following leaders to our Board of Directors:


Rebecca McLeod, Managing Director, Harvard Data Science Review

Bio: Rebecca McLeod has an extensive range of experience in scholarly communications that includes editorial, marketing, operations, and relationship management roles with publishers and vendors, as well as nonprofit and commercial organizations. Currently, she holds the position of Managing Director of the Harvard Data Science Review, the Harvard Data Science Initiative’s open access platform. In this role, she oversees all business, publishing, and program operations of HDSR. Rebecca’s long affiliation with the Society of Scholarly Publishing has been richly rewarding. She has had the honor of serving on SSP’s Board of Directors, the Annual Meeting, Nominating and Awards, and Marketing committees, as well as the 40th Anniversary Task Force. Rebecca has represented SSP on the C4DISC Steering Group and was one of the leaders of the D&I Task Force that eventually became the DEI Committee (today’s DEIA Committee), one of SSP’s most impactful committees. She has faithfully served as a Mentor for SSP’s Mentorship and Fellowship programs. Rebecca was honored to receive SSP’s annual Appreciation Award in both 2013 and 2019.

Board Members-at-Large

Judy Hum-Delaney, Director, Publishing Technologies, Canadian Science Publishing

Bio: Judy Hum-Delaney has more than 20 years of experience in scholarly publishing. Judy is currently the Director of Publishing Technologies at Canadian Science Publishing (CSP), where she oversees all publishing technology configurations, implementations, and support services. She monitors publishing technology trends and standards and ensures that CSP’s metadata and content are discoverable. Previously, she was the Manager of Production and Vendor Management at CSP. In this role, she oversaw the production of CSP’s suite of journals, the development of CSP’s publishing platform, and the management of vendor relationships. In her free time, Judy is passionate about giving back to her community through volunteerism and fundraising. She is the founder of a community group that has raised much-needed funds for local charities through foodie events, and she has served on the Board of Directors for the Children’s Wish Foundation (Ottawa Chapter) for many years.

Mia Ricci, Director of Publications Operations, American Geophysical Union

Bio: Mia Ricci is the Director of Publications Operations at the American Geophysical Union (AGU), where she oversees the strategic management, editorial offices, and publishing operations of AGU’s 24 scientific journals and the ESS Open Archive. Mia has over 15 years of experience in scholarly publishing, managing journal editorial operations and publishing partnerships. She also leads the diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEIA) efforts for AGU’s publications and currently serves on committees for C4DISC, SSP, CSE, and the Joint Commitment for Action on Inclusion and Diversity in Publishing. She is a member of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in Geosciences (AAPIiG) and was the co-founder of Wiley’s Asian and Pacific Islander Employee Resource Group. She has been part of the SSP community for many years, attending SSP Annual Meetings and serving in various volunteer roles: as Co-Chair of C4DISC’s Communications and Outreach Committee, as Founder and Co-Lead of the C4DISC Guidelines on Inclusive Language and Images in Scholarly Communication, as organizer and moderator for SSP Leadership Forums, and is on her 2nd term as a member of the SSP Education Committee.


Simone Taylor, Chief of Publishing Operations, American Psychiatric Association

Bio: From a background in scientific research, Simone started her publishing career at Elsevier. Via the National Physical Laboratory (United Kingdom), Wiley, and AIP Publishing, she has developed considerable international experience in leading adaptive and transformational change.

Simone is passionate about helping authors maintain records of their work in the scientific literature and is a keen advocate for improving global accessibility to the published body of knowledge. She has served on cross-industry teams that implemented data citation principles and standardized data policy. She also works to deliver more equitable outcomes in compensation and career advancement for marginalized groups in the workforce.

Simone currently serves as Publisher and Chief of Publishing Operations at the American Psychiatric Association, providing strategic direction and leadership for APA’s publishing program.

These new board members will begin their terms on June 1. Current Past President Miranda Walker and board members Sara Rouhi, Charlotte Roh, and Chhavi Chauhan will conclude their terms at that time.

Election winners will join incumbent board members, including incoming President Heather Staines, incoming Past President Randy Townsend, Secretary/Treasurer Emilie Delquié, and Members-at-Large Mike Di Natale, Yael Fitzpatrick, Hannah Heckner Swain, Simon Holt, Damita Snow, Tao Tao, and David Crotty (ex-officio).

Thank you to all of our members who voted!

View Comments

Be the first to write a comment!

Join the Conversation